The Fergies: Preacher Man

For years I have watched the Australian born band, The Fergies, grow. Every song they have released whether it be a cover, or an original has always left me at a loss for words. It is easy to see how the music moves through them and they just want to share that feeling with anyone who’ll listen.

I’ve been around since the Freak Morice days and let me tell you that their passion and love to create continues to grow. The band gained a ton of recognition from winning various songwriting competitions and such where they live. They also gained a following from starting a YouTube channel.

I enjoy watching The Fergies because, for one, I love passionate people. I love people who want to use what they are passionate about to make other people passionate. Their sound is so great, it’s very folk like but still has that pop appeal. I am a sucker for strings, whether it be acoustic or electric and they really deliver with that. They are a band of insanely talented vocalist as well as musicians.                                                                        I woke up this morning to a new video in my subscription box on YouTube, and since I didn’t follow the band on their social medias, I was completely surprised and ecstatic.

They released a new song entitled ‘Preacher Man,’ as well as a music video. Every time they release something it seems like they always outdo themselves, everything just gets better and better, they just seem to fall more in love with the music. Preacher Man starts off so beautifully, with the sound of organ playing, the intro stirs up feelings I’ve had before while never really having them at all. To me, the song is about finding a type of love that isn’t necessarily a higher spiritual love. It’s about finding earthly love and maybe an earthly love is what’s more important, maybe this person feels more fulfilled with the love they’ve found on the earth. The person, maybe, has been taught that you can’t find a higher love in another human, but this person has found that and is conflicted. They are coming to terms with who they love and who they worship, can the church really give me the love that I so desperately desire? Can the church save me? They ending the song with these last lyrics: “Can you save me Preacher Man? No, but I know someone who can…”

Who knows, that may not be what they were thinking when they wrote the song, that is just my interpretation of the song. You can watch the video below!

I am stoked to see what is in store for The Fergies during 2016, hopefully they’ll get an album out and the support they deserve will continue to grow. You can stay up to date with The Fergies by clicking right here!

Be sure you never miss a post from p0pculture again by following us on our social medias. Thanks for the support guys, until next time!


2 thoughts on “The Fergies: Preacher Man

  1. Your article is really good!
    I love The Fergies and I follow them since 4 years now and oh God i’m so impressed by their talent that is always growing! I really hope that they will be more recognized and that their following will grow over and over everyday because they really do deserve it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment